Fairfax Reckless Driving Lawyer
If you are charged with reckless driving, contact a Fairfax reckless driving lawyer for a free consultation. No attorney can make a guarantee of your acquittal, but our legal team promises to go over all of the facts of your case and evaluate the best possible strategy for your defense. We will help present your Fairfax reckless driving charge in court to give you the best chance of success. Call today and let us begin to gather the facts needed to defend your driving record and your rights.
According to the Code of Virginia, a person is guilty of reckless driving if he or she, regardless of the permitted speed limit, drives “in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person.”
Speeding is the most common, though by no means the only, grounds in which a citation for reckless driving may be issued. Typically, reckless driving by speed means driving a speed that is about 20 miles per hour over the posted limit, driving more than 80 miles per hour no matter what the posted limit, or driving too fast for road conditions no matter what the posted limit. For instance, you could get charged with reckless driving if you are driving in heavy rain, snow, or ice and the officer rules that you were going too fast for the weather conditions. If you are looking for a Fairfax criminal lawyer to help with a different criminal charge, please visit our general Fairfax page.
Frequently Asked Questions About Reckless Driving in Fairfax
What Constitutes Reckless Driving in Fairfax?
But it is important to remember that speed is not the only reason for reckless driving charges in the Commonwealth. You can be arrested or cited for reckless driving if you:
- Pass a school bus as it is picking up or dropping off children
- Engage in a speed race with another car
- Pass an ambulance or other emergency vehicle
- Drive with faulty brakes
- Drive an overloaded vehicle so that it interferes with visibility
Reckless Driving Penalties
If you are convicted of reckless driving in Virginia, a Class 1 misdemeanor goes on your record, the same class of misdemeanor as a conviction for DUI (driving under the influence), marijuana possession 2nd, or simple assault. You may be forced to pay a fine of up to $2,500 and spend up to one year in jail. Your Virginia driver’s license will be charged with six demerit points, and your license may be suspended for up to six months. However, the misdemeanor can be changed to a Class 6 felony if one of these two statements is found to be true:
- Because of a previous offense, your driver’s license has already been suspended or revoked
- Your reckless driving led to someone’s death
Penalties for felony reckless driving are far more serious than misdemeanor penalties. They include license suspension for one to three years, heavy fines, and a possible prison sentence of up to 20 years.
If you have been charged with reckless driving in Fairfax County, Virginia your first call should be to an experienced Fairfax County reckless driving lawyer. A reckless driving charge can seriously change your life for the worse. The fines, loss of license, and possible jail time are only a few of the problems you face. A criminal record might mean a loss of employment, which might also mean a loss of housing. It’s also almost certain that your car insurance premiums will rise, usually by a hefty amount.
Contact a Fairfax County Reckless Driving Lawyer
Clearly, you don’t want a reckless driving charge on your record. Before you enter the Fairfax County General District Court for your trial, you need the experience and know-how of a local reckless driving lawyer. Even before you get to court, your attorney may advise you to take a driver improvement course and/or have your speedometer checked to see if it records accurately. These actions will not get your charges dismissed, but they may put your attorney in a better position to negotiate a better outcome for you.