Reckless Driving Charges And Penalties in Manassas
In Virginia, reckless driving can mean a variety of things. The first statute that addresses reckless driving is 46.2-852 in the Code of Virginia which states very broadly that if a person drives in a manner that endangers life, limb, or property of another, that person can be charged with reckless driving.
That is a very broad definition and can mean a lot of things. Unfortunately, in Prince William County and in Manassas, the police consider any traffic accident reckless driving, regardless of how it occurred. The person who is charged of causing that accident very often gets charged with reckless driving. However, just because you are charged does not mean you will be found guilty. A Manassas reckless driving lawyer is available to assist you in fighting your charge and making sure it carries as little harm to your license as possible.
Other Types of Reckless Driving Charges
There are other types of driving which can constitute reckless driving in Virginia as well. For example, if you pass a school bus that can be considered reckless driving when the school bus stops and the lights are flashing. Additionally, if you’re driving twenty or more over the limit, that can be considered reckless driving. Racing can also be considered reckless driving.
Do Manassas Officers Typically Arrest Drivers for Reckless Driving?
In a typical reckless driving case a police officer will not arrest someone for reckless driving, however it does happen on occasion. One example of a case where someone might be arrested is when the person was driving at a rate of speed was over 120 miles an hour or they were racing another car. Under those circumstances, the person would likely be placed under arrest and taken to the jail. In every other case, if you’re charged with reckless driving the police ought to release you on summons which means they issue a ticket and you have to sign it. By signing it, you promise to appear in court and that happens in almost every case.
Penalties for a Reckless Driving Conviction in Manassas
A reckless driving conviction in Manassas would constitute a conviction of a Class 1 misdemeanor. The available range of penalties associated with the Class 1 misdemeanor are up to one year in jail, up to a $2,500 fine, and up to a six months loss of your privilege to operate a motor vehicle in Virginia.
How Does Reckless Driving Impact Your Driver’s License?
If a person is convicted of reckless driving, their driving privileges in Virginia can be suspended for up to six months. In addition, you’ll get six points on your driver’s license which will of course will cause your insurance rate go through the roof.
Long Term Implications of a Manassas Reckless Driving Conviction
Most importantly you have a Class 1 misdemeanor now on your record and that’s something that will never go away. Having that misdemeanor potentially could be an impediment to future employment. It will certainly add a degree of difficulty in obtaining car insurance and that’s another long term implication is your insurance rate is going to go up. Additionally, you will have six points on your driver’s license and that conviction will stay on your driving record for eleven years in Virginia.