Fairfax County Traffic Attorney
Fairfax County is dedicated to preserving the safety of its residents, and in order to reduce the number of injuries and fatalities suffered by means of motor vehicle accidents, the state cracks down on violators of traffic laws. Where some states are more tolerant of minor traffic infractions, Virginia hands out serious punishment for even simple traffic violations, including penalties such as fines, citations, mandatory enrollment in driver’s safety programs, demerit points against your record, license suspension, jail time, and much more. A Fairfax traffic lawyer can help.
If your driving is considered by a highway patrol officer to endanger public safety, you could be charged with reckless driving and face a misdemeanor charge which will follow you on your personal record for years to come. Even with a less severe violation, the subjectivity of definitions within the criminal code may leave your fate to the opinions of an officer. It is important to have competent legal counsel on your side, to help you understand any charges you face and to determine if you do, in fact, need a lawyer to defend you in court.
Fairfax Traffic Lawyers Handle These Cases
There are a number of traffic citations in Fairfax which can lead to serious consequences. Some common traffic violations are:
- Failure to stop/yield
- Failure to signal
- Passing with inadequate sight distance
- Reckless Driving
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
Although many times driver error is merely the result of distraction or temporarily diverted attention, the damage done in a motor vehicle collision can be catastrophic or even fatal for those involved, regardless of intent. It does not take malice or blatantly dangerous or aggressive driving to cause serious damage, and that is why Virginia tends to punish to the fullest extent of the law.
If you have been charged with a traffic violation, it is in your best interest to consult a traffic attorney to discuss the circumstances surrounding your infraction. With vast knowledge of Virginia traffic laws, a Fairfax traffic lawyer can evaluate your case to determine what steps need to be taken to avoid the most severe of penalties.
In a fast-paced society, we are constantly rushing to get from one place to another. When in a hurry, it is simple to add a few miles on the speedometer to try to get where we are headed a little bit faster. If you are caught driving between one and ten miles per hour over the posted speed limit, you will receive 3 demerit points against your driving record and be fined at a rate of $5 per mile over the posted speed, plus all applicable court fees. When caught driving between ten and nineteen miles over the speed limit, you will again pay $5 for each mile per hour over the posted speed plus court fees, but you will receive an additional demerit against your record, making it a 4-demerit violation.
Speeding is the most common traffic violation which leads to misdemeanor charges for reckless driving. In order to be considered reckless driving, you must be caught driving more than eighty miles per hour or driving faster than what is considered to be a “reasonable speed under the circumstances and traffic conditions at the time,” regardless of the posted speed, or driving more than twenty miles over the posted speed limit. If your speed is in the realm of reckless driving, you will receive 6 demerit points, a fine of $5 per mile over the posted speed, court costs, and a civil penalty payment in the range of $350 to $1000, due annually for three years following your conviction. You will also incur criminal penalties, including the possibility of jail and a record of your criminal conviction.
In Virginia, the standard threshold for a DUI charge is a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08, with the allowable BAC being less for commercial drivers and those under 21 years of age. For a first time arrest with a BAC of 0.08 to 0.15, the average driver will receive a minimum fine of $250 with possible additional fines, mandatory enrollment in the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP), and a one-year license suspension. If the driver’s BAC is in the range of 0.15 to 0.20, in addition to the penalties for a lesser BAC, the driver will also be incarcerated for up to 5 days and will be required to install an ignition interlock device on his or her vehicles.
If you have been caught driving while under the influence of alcohol, you face very serious charges. The severity of the penalties increases along with an increased blood alcohol content (BAC) and with each subsequent DUI arrest. An experienced lawyer who knows Virginia traffic and DUI laws is necessary for defending your rights and determining the best defense for your case.
A Fairfax Traffic Lawyer Can Help
With the highest number of automobile accidents in the state, Fairfax County is adamant about promoting roadway safety. By exhibiting a harsh hand against those caught violating traffic laws, the state aims to reduce the number of accidents on its streets. If you were not adhering to state traffic laws and now face charges and the associated penalties for your driving error, you need the help of a competent traffic attorney to help you determine your options for defense. Whether disputing your ticket, fighting conviction, or working to reduce the penalties you face, the skillful counsel provided by a Fairfax traffic lawyer is vital to your case.